A rectangle
NUCLEI banner

NUCLEI scheme

Good News (see also NUCLEI in the News and the Good News Archive)

NUCLEI researcher Thomas Papenbrock elected as APS Fellow
The Division of Nuclear Physics recognized Dr. Papenbrock as a Fellow in The American Physical Society. The citation reads: "For innovative theoretical approaches to the nuclear many-body problem and other finite quantum systems." Congratulations!
Special issue on nuclear uncertainty quantification features NUCLEI researchers
A special focus issue of the Journal of Physics G: Nuclear and Particle Physics devoted to Enhancing the interaction between nuclear experiment and theory through information and statistics (ISNET) includes multiple collaborative articles by NUCLEI physicists and applied mathematicians on uncertainty quantification for chiral interactions, effective field theory, energy density functionals, and more.
DOE awards 204 million processor hours for computational nuclear structure/reactions
The DOE INCITE program has awarded a large number of hours on DOE's Leadership Class computers for NUCLEI computational nuclear physics projects in 2015. More details are available on the 2015 INCITE award. Congratulations to the NUCLEI INCITE team!
NUCLEI researcher Nicolas Schunck elected to NUGEX
The NERSC Users Group Executive Committee is the voice of the user community to NERSC and DOE. NUGEX is consulted on many NERSC policy issues and members participate in their office's NERSC Requirements Reviews of High Performance Computing and Storage. Congratulations to Nicolas Schunck of LLNL on his election to a three-year term as one of the three representatives from Nuclear Physics.
NUCLEI team wins NERSC award
The National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center (NERSC) has announced that NUCLEI investigators James Vary, Pieter Maris, Esmond Ng and Chao Yang have been awarded the NERSC Exascale Science Application Program (NESAP) for "Weakly Bound and Resonant States in Light Isotope Chains Using MFDn -- Many Fermion Dynamics Nuclear Physics."  The project team also includes George Papadimitriou (ISU), Mark Caprio (UND), and Meiyue Shao (LBNL). With this award, the project team, working with NERSC, Cray, and Intel "will undertake intensive efforts to adapt software to take advantage of Cori's Knights Landing manycore architecture and to use the resultant codes to produce pathbreaking science on an architecture that may represent an approach to exascale systems." See additional information about the project and about the full list of 20 awards. Congratulations to these scientists!
NUCLEI young researchers recently named to faculty, permanent staff and fellow positions
Congratulations to these scientists on their new positions!
  • Dr. Nobuo Hinohara has joined the faculty in the Center for Computational Sciences, University of Tsukuba as an Assistant Professor.
  • Dr. Andrew Steiner has joined the faculty at the University of Tennessee in the Department of Physics as an Assistant Professor.
  • Dr. Jason Holt has joined the TRIUMF Theory Group as a Research Scientist.
  • Dr. Metin Aktulga has joined the faculty in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at Michigan State University as an Assistant Professor.
  • Dr. Alessandro Lovato has joined the Argonne Theory Group Staff as a Research Scientist.
  • Dr. Roman Senkov has joined the faculty in the Department of Natural Sciences at City University of New York's LaGuardia Community College as an Assistant Professor.
  • Dr. Jordan McDonnell has joined the faculty at Francis Marion University as an Assistant Professor of Physics.
  • Dr. Heiko Hergert began a five-year research position as an FRIB Theory Fellow at Michigan State University in August, 2014.
NUCLEI researcher wins UNC postdoctoral award
Congratulations to Dr. Mika Mustonen, who has won a university-wide award for research excellence at the University of North Carolina. Further details are available from the UNC Office of Postdoctoral Affairs.
Paper by NUCLEI researcher selected as "Publisher's Pick" in J.Phys. G
The paper "Error estimates of theoretical models: a guide" by Witek Nazarewicz and collaborators Jacek Dobaczewski and P.G. Reinhard has been highlighted by the publisher of Journal of Physics G, who writes: "In every scientific discipline estimating errors is vital to understanding data. This work provides an outstanding guide to uncertainty quantification in nuclear structure models, and acts as a precursor to an upcoming JPhysG Focus Issue on 'Enhancing the interaction between nuclear experiment and theory through information and statistics'." Congratulations!
Papers by NUCLEI researchers selected as "Editor's Suggestions" in PRC
Several recent papers describing NUCLEI physics have been highlighted by the Editors of Physical Review C: Congratulations to these scientists!
Figures from NUCLEI papers selected for PRC Kaleidoscope
A figure showing paths for spontaneous fission of 264Fm from the paper "Spontaneous fission lifetimes from the minimization of self-consistent collective action" by Jhilam Sadhukhan, K. Mazurek, A. Baran, J. Dobaczewski, W. Nazarewicz, and J. A. Sheikh, Phys. Rev. C 88, 064314 (2013) and a figure showing a complex nuclear density simulation from the paper "Nuclear 'pasta' formation" by A. S. Schneider, C. J. Horowitz, J. Hughto, and D. K. Berry, Phys. Rev. C 88, 065807 (2013) have been chosen by the Editors of Physical Review C for the "Kaleidoscope". Congratulations to these researchers!
Article by NUCLEI researchers selected as Physica Scripta highlight
The paper Living on the edge of stability, the limits of the nuclear landscape," by C Forssen, G Hagen, M Hjorth-Jensen, W Nazarewicz, and J Rotureau, Physica Scripta T 152, 014022 (2013), has been chosen by the editors of Physica Scripta for inclusion in the exclusive "Highlights of 2013" collection. Congratulations to these scientists!

Announcements (see also News Archive)

Upcoming workshops, conferences, and other meetings
Please see the Meetings page.
Faculty and Permanent Research Positions in NUCLEI-related science
Faculty openings have been announced for Michigan State University, Temple University, University of Massachusetts at Amherst, Lehigh University, Washington State University. Permanent research positions have been announced for RIKEN. See Job Postings for details.
Postdoc and Fellow Positions in NUCLEI-related science
Postdoc openings (including Fellows) for 2016 will be posted when announced. See Job Postings for the 2015 postings.